Global is Local

Not Dead Enough

Review: Suspense, Thrills & Murder With ‘Not Dead Enough’ At GOH

June 27, 2017 Chris Caldwell 0 Comments

‘Not Dead Enough’ starts with a dead body in a morgue and over the next 2 hours the cast of familiar faces from Emmerdale, Coronation Street, Hollyoaks and Strictly Come Dancing, play out the shocking story with more twists and turns than a rollercoaster.  Bill Ward plays DS Roy Grace, a larger than life character with a murky past and eye for detail.  As 3 murders take place that seem to be connected to him, it brings his past and present crashing together.  He seems to have his suspect or does he? He’s not so sure and thinks his finely tuned coppers nose may be betraying him? To find out any more you’ll have to go see it I’m afraid! The play comes from the pen of  No.1 writer Peter James and this makes for proper characters that are well fleshed out and well played. Not giving too much away initially, but revealing more and more as the action thunders on.  With Plenty of murders, twists and edge-of-your-seat moments it packs a lot into the 2-hour running time.  This is definitely one for fans of Prime Suspect, CSI and Broadchurch and felt like something I hadn’t really seen before on stage.  The sets, lighting and sound were all excellent, giving the whole production a very cinematic and professional feel.  Hopefully, they adapt more books like this from Peter James, or James Patterson, or any high tension detective series as it really seems to work well in the theatre setting and, judging by the full house in the Grand Opera House, is a popular choice for audiences.

‘Not Dead Enough’ is on at Grand Opera House until the 1st Of July. All the details are here.

 

#GOH#Grand Opera House#Peter James

Previous Post

Next Post